Barth, Karl - Research Article from Encyclopedia of Religion

This encyclopedia article consists of approximately 10 pages of information about Barth, Karl.
This section contains 2,957 words
(approx. 10 pages at 300 words per page)
Buy the Barth, Karl Encyclopedia Article

BARTH, KARL (1886–1968), Swiss Reformed theologian, described by Pope Pius XII as the greatest theologian since Thomas Aquinas, and certainly the most influential of the twentieth century. Barth stands as a prophetic voice in the tradition of Athanasius, Augustine, and Calvin, calling the Christian church back to the Bible and to its foundation in Jesus Christ. This message sounded forth powerfully in his first book, Romans (especially in the largely rewritten second edition of 1921), which drew widespread attention. Barth later said that in writing this book he was like a man in a dark church tower who accidentally trips, catches hold of the bell rope to steady himself, and alarms the whole countryside. As a result, he was called to university chairs in Göttingen (1921), in Münster (1925), and in Bonn (1930). From this latter post he was dismissed in 1935 because of his refusal to take an oath...

(read more)

This section contains 2,957 words
(approx. 10 pages at 300 words per page)
Buy the Barth, Karl Encyclopedia Article
Copyrights
Macmillan
Barth, Karl from Macmillan. Copyright © 2001-2006 by Macmillan Reference USA, an imprint of the Gale Group. All rights reserved.